Home » Blog » Energy of the Day 12-26-2015

It's About Time! header

Energy of the Day 12-26-2015

It’s About Time

Energy of the Day 12-26-2015


Here is your Energy of the Day report…

Numerology: 1+2+2+6+2+0+1+5 equals 19 or 1; meaning “Beginnings”

Astrology – “ The Day of the Indomitable One” – 4 degrees Capricorn

Tarot Card – the 8th card of “Strength”

13 Moon Calender – 6 Rhythmic Moon

Saturday –

Planet: Saturn

Color: Violet/Purple

Chakra: 2nd Sacral

Element: Water

Minerals: Amethyst, Carnelian, Lapiz Lazuli, Fire Opal

Energy Quality: Change, Freedom, Transmutation, Mercy

Spirit Guides: Saint Germain, Zadkiel, Hanuman, Kali, Gaia

Mayan Day Count – Kin 220: 12 Ahau

Ahau: sun, solar being, sovereign hunter, flower, integrity, art

12: Sharing – take part in group activities where you can share a common vision

(from Mayan Calender Decoder and Messages of The Maya Cards by Claudie Planche www.stargaia.com)

Inspiration: The Celebration of Kwanzaa

Though many Americans don’t know much about Kwanzaa, it is a holiday that all can share in.
Kwanzaa is celebrated from December 26 through January 1st.
Established by Maulana Karenga in 1966, Kwanzaa is a holiday that honors African heritage and celebrates family, community and culture. It takes its name from the phrase “matunda ya kwanza,” which in Swahili means “first fruits.” Swahili is the most widely spoken African language, and was thus chosen as the language of Kwanzaa’s principles. According to Karenga, “Kwanzaa was created to reaffirm and restore our rootedness in African culture.” It is a cultural rather than religious holiday, and can be celebrated regardless of a person’s faith tradition. “First fruits” celebrations date back to ancient Egypt and Nubia, and commemorate the harvest.
The colors black, red and green are part of Kwanzaa celebrations due to their special significance; Black represents the people, red is for the blood uniting all those with African ancestry, as well as the blood shed during slavery and the civil rights movement and green is for the lush land of Africa. These colors also reflect the Pan-African movement itself. There are seven principles of Kwanzaa, celebrated on each day of the holiday and known collectively as Nguzo Saba. They are African values which are named in both Swahili and English.

Umoja: Unity

Kujichagulia: Self-determination

Ujima: Collective Work and Responsibility

Ujamaa: Cooperative Economics

Nia: Purpose

Kuumba: Creativity

Imani: Faith
Families gather during Kwanzaa to light the kinara, a candle holder with seven candles in the colors of red, black, and green. The black candle is placed in the center and used to light the other flames from left to right. Together, the candles are called the mishuuma saba, and they represent the Seven Principles. Other traditions include the kikombe cha umoja, or Unity Cup, which is used to pour libations in honor of ancestors departed.

December 26

The first day (Umoja): All the days of Kwanzaa have a specific focus. Umoja means unity, and thus the first day is centered on family and community. The black candle in the center of the kinara is lit first as the basics of the Unity Principle are reviewed and meditated on in terms of how it relates to everyday life. Another ritual often celebrated at this time is the sharing of the Unity Cup, one of the symbols of Kwanzaa that resides on the altar. Each person takes a drink and then passes the cup onto the next. When all are done drinking, the candle is extinguished.



With Love, Mary

Energy of the Day 12-26-2015

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *